This book written to priests emphasizes the Law
The name of the book means: “the Lord called”

Simple Outline:
ch1-10 – Sacrifice pleases God
ch11-27 – Sanctification pleases God

By the #s…
5 offerings (ch1-5): burnt, meal, peace, sin, trespass
7 feasts (23): Passover, unleavened bread, 1st-fruits, Pentecost, trumpets, atonement, tabernacles
the 7’s: Sabbath day, sabbatical year, Year of Jubilee

the Day of Atonement (aka: Yom Kippur) – each year, on one single day, the high priest was able to access the Holiest Place (to sprinkle blood on the mercy seat). On this day a priest would place all of the sins of all the Hebrews onto a goat and send him into the wilderness… the scapegoat.  (Read about this day in ch. 16)

Laws vs. Legalism?
There are hundreds of laws in the Old Testament.  As you read them (civil, ceremonial, moral, religious, sanitary), look for the timeless truths that you can/should apply today.